Never Know What A Day Will Bring

I had just arrived back from Memorial Stadium at the University of Illinois.  It was Saturday afternoon, September 29.  The Illini football team had just beaten 25th ranked Louisville 34-10.  I was on a high that only true lovers of sports can comprehend.  The game had been pushed back due to the September 11 attacks and the stadium was filled with patriotic fervor.  As my dad and I sat in the stands, the clock ticking down to zero, it never crossed my mind that  something way more essential to my life was about to happen.

As we approached my apartment, I was ready to jump in the shower and quickly get dressed so I could head out again to visit some friends at Illinois State for the night.  When I walked into the apartment around 3:30pm that gorgeous Saturday, I was greeted by one of my roommates and three girls from our high school.  I knew two of the girls but even though I had met the third one standing there, I had never spoken to her.  I introduced myself, made some small talk, and then headed out the door.  When I returned home the next day I asked my roommate about that girl Jenny.  Did he know much about her…. was she currently seeing anyone?  He just smiled and said, “You know it’s funny, she asked the same thing about you.”  Six weeks later we went on our first date and the rest (15 years, 3 kids, and many sporting events) is our history.

Leave a Reply

